NEWS RELEASES

MAY 19, 2020

Time by Sarah Riggs, translated from the French written by Etel Adnan and Magnetic Equator by Kaie Kellough Win the 2020 Griffin Poetry Prize

TORONTO – Tuesday, May 19, 2020 – Time by Sarah Riggs, translated from the French written by Etel Adnan (Nightboat Books) and Magnetic Equator by Kaie Kellough (McClelland & Stewart) are the International and Canadian winners of the 2020 Griffin Poetry Prize, each receiving C\$65,000 in prize money. The other shortlist finalists will be awarded \$10,000 each.

THE 2020 GRIFFIN POETRY PRIZE WINNERS

International

Time

Sarah Riggs, translated from the French written by Etel Adnan

and

Canadian

Magnetic Equator by Kaie Kellough

The Griffin Poetry Prize was founded in 2000 to encourage and celebrate excellence in poetry. The prize is for first edition books of poetry written in, or translated into, English and submitted from anywhere in the world.

The judges for the 2020 Griffin Poetry Prize are Paula Meehan (Ireland), Kei Miller (Jamaica/UK) and Hoa Nguyen (Canada). These distinguished writers and poets each read 572 books of poetry, received from fourteen countries around the globe, including translations from eighteen different languages. The trustees of The Griffin Trust For Excellence In Poetry select the judges annually.

Presenting the 2020 Griffin Poetry Prize Winners

International Winner







Time
by Sarah Riggs, translated from the French
written by Etel Adnan
Nightboat Books

Canadian Winner





Magnetic Equator

Kaie Kellough

McClelland & Stewart

The 2020 Griffin Poetry Prize Shortlist:

International

- Abigail Chabitnoy's How to Dress a Fish, published by Wesleyan University Press
- Sharon Olds' Arias, published by Jonathan Cape and Alfred A. Knopf
- Sarah Riggs' translation, from the French, of *Time* written by Etel Adnan, published by Nightboat Books
- Natalie Scenters-Zapico's *Lima :: Limón*, published by Copper Canyon Press

Canadian

- Chantal Gibson's How She Read, published by Caitlin Press
- Doyali Islam's heft, published by McClelland & Stewart
- Kaie Kellough's *Magnetic Equator*, published by McLelland & Stewart

Click here to view the 2020 Griffin Poetry Prize winners announcement video.

Note to Booksellers: Griffin Poetry Prize book stickers are supplied free of charge by The Griffin Trust. Please contact info@griffinpoetryprize.com to place an order. Winner book stickers will be available after May 19.

For further information, contact:

Media Inquiries

Melissa Shirley

Publicist

Tel: (647) 389-9510

E-mail: publicity@griffinpoetryprize.com

General Inquiries

Ruth Smith

Executive Director Tel: (905) 618-0420

E-mail: info@griffinpoetryprize.com

Shortlisted Publishers' Web sites:

Alfred A. Knopf:

knopfdoubleday.com

Caitlin Press:

caitlin-press.com

Copper Canyon Press:

coppercanyonpress.org

Jonathan Cape:

penguin.co.uk/company/publishers/vintage/jonathan-cape

McClelland & Stewart:

penguinrandomhouse.ca/imprints/mcclelland-stewart

Nightboat Books:

nightboat.org

Wesleyan University Press:

wesleyan.edu/wespress

Shortlist summary, poet bios and citations

Download press release, poet bios and citations | Download photos

Purchase 2020 Griffin Poetry Prize shortlisted books online

Return to the News Release index.



The Griffin Trust For Excellence In Poetry is also the proud founder of Poetry In Voice / Les voix de la poésie, which presents regional and national poetry recitation competitions and provides poetry programs and materials to high schools across

Canada. Learn more here.